Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield

“One of the most pleasurable and satisfying new books I’ve read in a long time. Setterfield is a master storyteller…swift and entrancing, profound and beautiful.” —Madeline Miller, internationally bestselling author of Circe and The Song of Achilles

“A beguiling tale, full of twists and turns like the river at its heart, and just as rich and intriguing.” —M.L. Stedman, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Light Between Oceans

“This is magical, bewitching storytelling…High prose expressed with rare clarity, story for the unashamed sake of story, a kind of moral dreaminess…well, the list continues to grow.”—Jim Crace, National Book Critics Circle winner and author of Being Dead and Harvest

From the instant #1 New York Times bestselling author of the “eerie and fascinating” (USA TODAYThe Thirteenth Tale comes a richly imagined, powerful new novel about how we explain the world to ourselves, ourselves to others, and the meaning of our lives in a universe that remains impenetrably mysterious.

once-upon-a-river-9780743298070_hr

To place your name on the wait list for this new book you can log in to your account here with your library card number and password (which is most likely your last name unless you’ve changed it), call the library at 603-756-9806 or e-mail Justine at jfafara@walpoletownlibrary.org and we’ll add you to the list!

My Sister, the Serial Killer

ONE OF ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY’S 20 MUST READ BOOKS OF THE FALL

my sister.jpg

“A short, darkly funny, hand grenade of a novel about a Nigerian woman whose younger sister has a very inconvenient habit of killing her boyfriends

“Femi makes three, you know. Three and they label you a serial killer.”

Korede is bitter. How could she not be? Her sister, Ayoola, is many things: the favorite child, the beautiful one, possibly sociopathic. And now Ayoola’s third boyfriend in a row is dead.

Korede’s practicality is the sisters’ saving grace. She knows the best solutions for cleaning blood, the trunk of her car is big enough for a body, and she keeps Ayoola from posting pictures of her dinner to Instagram when she should be mourning her “missing” boyfriend. Not that she gets any credit.

Korede has long been in love with a kind, handsome doctor at the hospital where she works. She dreams of the day when he will realize that she’s exactly what he needs. But when he asks Korede for Ayoola’s phone number, she must reckon with what her sister has become and how far she’s willing to go to protect her.

Sharp as nails and full of deadpan wit, Oyinkan Braithwaite’s deliciously deadly debut is as fun as it is frightening.” -Baker & Taylor

To place your name on the wait list for this new book you can log in to your account here with your library card number and password (which is most likely your last name unless you’ve changed it), call the library at 603-756-9806 or e-mail Justine at jfafara@walpoletownlibrary.org and we’ll add you to the list!

Brain Health As You Age by Steven Simmons

“While we may expect to live longer, many wonder if their brains will keep up with their bodies. This book looks at typical functions and declines of an aging brain, the signs and symptoms of problems, the available treatments, the financial responsibilities, and the factors that determine what kinds of care people might need as they age.” -Baker & Taylor

brain health

To place your name on the wait list for this new book you can log in to your account here with your library card number and password (which is most likely your last name unless you’ve changed it), call the library at 603-756-9806 or e-mail Justine at jfafara@walpoletownlibrary.org and we’ll add you to the list!

The Kinship of Secrets by Eugenia Kim

“From the author of The Calligrapher’s Daughter comes the riveting story of two sisters, one raised in the United States, the other in South Korea, and the family that bound them together even as the Korean War kept them apart.

kinship.jpg

In 1948 Najin and Calvin Cho, with their young daughter Miran, travel from South Korea to the United States in search of new opportunities. Wary of the challenges they know will face them, Najin and Calvin make the difficult decision to leave their infant daughter, Inja, behind with their extended family; soon, they hope, they will return to her.

But then war breaks out in Korea, and there is no end in sight to the separation. Miran grows up in prosperous American suburbia, under the shadow of the daughter left behind, as Inja grapples in her war-torn land with ties to a family she doesn’t remember. Najin and Calvin desperately seek a reunion with Inja, but are the bonds of love strong enough to reconnect their family over distance, time, and war? And as deep family secrets are revealed, will everything they long for be upended?

Told through the alternating perspectives of the distanced sisters, and inspired by a true story, The Kinship of Secrets explores the cruelty of war, the power of hope, and what it means to be a sister.” -Baker & Taylor

To place your name on the wait list for this new book you can log in to your account here with your library card number and password (which is most likely your last name unless you’ve changed it), call the library at 603-756-9806 or e-mail Justine at jfafara@walpoletownlibrary.org and we’ll add you to the list!

New Children’s Book by NH Author, Tomie dePaola

“In a gorgeous and contemplative new picture book, legendary author-illustrator Tomie dePaola reminds us that mindfulness—being quiet, still, and present with one another—is a very special thing.” -Baker & Taylor

quiet

To place your name on the wait list for this new book you can log in to your account here with your library card number and password (which is most likely your last name unless you’ve changed it), call the library at 603-756-9806 or e-mail Justine at jfafara@walpoletownlibrary.org and we’ll add you to the list!

New WWII Family Saga, perfect if you loved Lilac Girls

“A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key.

girl they left behind

On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation.

Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor’s dark secrets.

When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.” -Baker & Taylor

To place your name on the wait list for this new book you can log in to your account here with your library card number and password (which is most likely your last name unless you’ve changed it), call the library at 603-756-9806 or e-mail Justine at jfafara@walpoletownlibrary.org and we’ll add you to the list!